Set List

01. Gone Away (Rich Robinson) 02. Station Man (Fleetwood Mac: Kirwan/Spencer/McVie) 03. Lost and Found (Rich Robinson) 04. Riders On The Storm (The Doors) 05. Cerdes (Outside the Gates Of) (Procol Harum:  Brooker/Reid) 06. Little Red Rooster (The Doors:  Willie Dixon) 07. Laila II (Instrumental Jam ala Allman Brothers) 08. People Are Strange (The Doors) 09. Look Through My Window (Rich Robinson) 10. Crossroads (Cream:  Robert Johnson) 11. Bye Bye Baby (Rich Robinson) 12. Back Door Man (The Doors:  Willie Dixon 13. L.A.Woman (The Doors)


14. Cinnamon Girl (Neil Young) 15. Roadhouse Blues (The Doors)

Roadhouse Rebels are Robby Krieger (THE DOORS) – guitar/vox; Rich Robinson (BLACK CROWES/RICH ROBINSON BAND) – guitar/vox; Steve Molitz (PARTICLE/RICH ROBINSON BAND) – hammond organ, keys; Joe Magistro (RICH ROBINSON BAND) – drums; John Avila (OINGO BOINGO) – bass.

ENTIRE concert can be listened to and downloaded here:

[ ]

( As of today, 5.30.2012, the link is up 🙂  Link may be down for revisions at times, so try back, or at: [ ] )

Great article on band’s brief history:

[ ]

Per the above article in Marquee Magazine, all three surviving members of The Doors recently contributed to the song “Breakin’ A Sweat,” produced by Skrillex for the documentary film: Re:Generation [For a great short video on the making of this song:].  It was the first time since 1978 that John Densmore participated with Krieger and Ray Manzarek on a project. 

According to Krieger, they’ve recorded another track with Tech N9ne [per this linked article, not only will Densmore participate, but Jim Morrison’s voice will be dubbed in as well to provide all four Doors performing on the Tech N9ne track:]. 

Krieger and Manzarak will be touring Mexico, Israel and Europe, including Russia, the Ukraine and Poland in June/July with a couple U.S. dates in September [ ].  Look for the Roadhouse Rebels to reappear sometime soon, as well.

[Check out my other blog: An Armchair Concert: RADIOHEAD in Broomfield, Colorado – March 13, 2012 for a similar experience]

[all below photos copyright Stephen Bort]





Robby Krieger:  SINGULARITY (2010):

Rich Robinson, Steve Molitz, Joe Magistro:  THROUGH A CROOKED SUN (2011):  [“When the Black Crowes either broke up or went on indefinite hiatus (it depends on who you ask and sometimes when you ask), guitarist Rich Robinson spent a few months with his family at home, figuring out what to do next. There were some deaths in his extended family that just added to how strange it was adjusting to life without the Crowes, and how strange it was to be working on projects without his brother, vocalist Chris Robinson. He ended up building a studio in his Connecticut home and worked on his production chops. New avenues were opening, too, with Robinson composing the soundtrack for the 2001 film Highway while seriously working on his painting for the first time since the Crowes had formed.

In 2003, he formed the four-piece band Hookah Brown, which toured a bit before Robinson realized he couldn’t stand band politics any longer. Going it alone meant singing lessons, since the guitarist had never handled lead vocals. It took one lesson for Robinson to realize his technique was all wrong, but it built up his confidence and renewed his interest in releasing an album. Playing everything himself but the drums, Robinson soon had enough for an album. Joe Magistro took care of the drum parts, then guest appearances from ex-Crowes keyboardist Eddie Hawrsch and BR5-49’s Donnie Herron were added, and the album was done. Robinson released the result, Paper, in August of 2004 on his own Keyhole label. Shortly afterward in 2005, the Black Crowes reunited and had a successful run of records, beginning with an acoustic duet with brother Chris called Brothers of a Feather in 2007. The next year, the Crowes released the full-length Warpaint, which was succeeded by the double-album Before the Frost…Until the Freeze in 2009. Two years later, the Crowes went on hiatus and Robinson released his second solo album, Through a Crooked Sun.”  –]

Steve Molitz, Robbie Krieger, Joe Satriani, DJ Logic, … (Particle):  TRANSFORMATIONS LIVE FOR THE PEOPLE (2006)  [“Composer and keyboardist Steve Molitz has played over a thousand shows around the world since he started his career as a touring musician in 2000.  His Los Angeles based electrorock band Particle has played all the major US festivals from Bonnaroo to Lollapalooza, and has received critical praise from Rolling Stone, CNN, and The New York Times.  Their 2004 instrumental studio album (produced by Tom Rothrock) was named one of the Top Ten albums of 2004 by the Associated Press, and was later remixed by Groove Armada’s Tom Findlay.  Molitz has also played hundreds of shows since 2004 as a member of Grateful Dead bassist Phil Lesh’s touring band, Phil Lesh & Friends.  In 2005, Grateful Dead percussionist and Grammy award winning world musician Mickey Hart joined Molitz and Particle for a 30 city U.S. tour under the name Hydra.  Molitz has also recorded and performed live with a wide range of top musicians spanning genres from Pop and Electronica to Rock and Americana.  Highlights include performances with The Allman Brothers Band, Chris Robinson (Black Crowes), Levon Helm (The Band), Tricky, G Love, and members of The Doors, Phish, and Dave Matthews Band.

Known in part for his innovative approach to playing and programming vintage keyboards and analog synthesizers, Molitz has made several appearances at Moogfest (A Tribute to Bob Moog), and recently participated in the development and design of the latest Moog Synthesizer, the Little Phatty.  He also recently completed an interview along with the likes of Stevie Wonder and Herbie Hancock for The Fender Rhodes Story, a forthcoming documentary about the Fender Rhodes Electric Piano.  Molitz’s music has also been featured in film and television, and recent highlights include his contributions to the score and soundtrack of the forthcoming Ridley Scott film, ‘Tell-Tale’, as well as the music he wrote and recorded for the Universal video game ‘Scarface: The World Is Yours.’”  –]

John Avila (Oingo Boingo):  THE BEST OF OINGO BOINGO: 20th CENTURY MASTERS:  THE MILLENIUM COLLECTION (2002)  [“The Mystic Knights of the Oingo Boingo were formed as a musical theatre group in 1972 by Richard Elfman and would eventually become the influential new-wave/art punk band known simply as Oingo Boingo. They were best known commercially for their hit song “Weird Science” from the film of the same name and also on their fourth album “Dead Man’s Party”. Their primary songwriter and frontman Danny Elfman would go on to become a well respected and famous film-score composer and work closely with Tim Burton on films such as Beetlejuice (1988), …”  –]