Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This is an email that I just fired off to my friend, Travis:

If you haven’t heard of Joshua Ledet yet, believe me you will very soon.  He’s an American Idol contestant who brought James Brown out of his grave tonight with a version of It’s A Man’s Man’s Man’s World that will go down in history as an “I was there when…” moment.  I was there in front of the TV tonight when Ledet cut loose live, man.  I saw it.  I heard it.  I felt it.  I believed it.  If you have iPhone, you can download it.  Trust me, man.

[View it here while they let you (once commercial ends, then scroll to the song): http://www.americanidol.com/videos/season_11/performances/ .  If that’s not enough, scroll to his performances of The Bee Gees’ To Love Somebody, India Arie’s Ready For Love and Bruno Mars’ Runaway Baby.]

He did a version of Percy Sledge’s When A Man Loves A Woman a few weeks back.  Sledge called into the show the next day to praise him for it.  Steven Tyler tonight said of Ledet’s performance of the James Brown song that he had never heard anything like it in his life.

I can see Jeff Beck and Eric Clapton, Steve Winwood and all the blues/soul/rock greats who are still alive just drooling to back up Ledet on stage live.  Jennifer Lopez basically told Jimmy Iovine a week or two ago that if he screws up production of Ledet’s first album, then he’s an idiot.  Ledet isn’t even out of the top four contestants yet.  He’s from another planet, man.  You gotta check him out.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joshua_Ledet

