I’m new to blogging and apologize, Elsie, for this late response.  I just figured it all out.  Lots for me still to learn about this blogging experience.

Versatile Blogger Award

Thank you http://bowendiaries.wordpress.com/ for nominating me :) !

Here are seven random facts about me:

1.  I’ve seen Bob Dylan 10 times in concert.

2.  At a film festival in Telluride, about twenty years ago, I saw Clint Eastwood go into a Port-a-John and then come out a while later.  I then hiked down the mountain to Telluride with him (along with a hundred or so others).

3.  I wrote a screenplay adaptation of a true story about Bat Masterson which was to be filmed by director Earl Bellamy (assistant director to George Cukor on “From Here To Eternity” and the original “A Star Is Born.”  Bellamy died suddenly while the money was being arranged for the production.  The project sort of died with Earl.  Talking to him over the phone so many times was one of the most incredible “happenings” in my life.  He told me that the famous beach scene in “From Here To Eternity” with Burt Lancaster and Deborah Kerr was handled tastefully, but still powerfully, and that movies nowadays show way too much skin and action than they used too.  I tend to agree.

4.  I was born in California, raised in the Panhandle of Texas, worked at a coal mine in Wyoming for eight months and have lived in Colorado since then.

5.  I’m a fan of Formula One, Indy and The Dakar.  I saw British driver Dan Wheldon win his fifth of six Indy races in 2005, which established his reputation.  He died tragically in a horrible, heartbreaking, flaming crash involving numerous cars just last year in Vegas–the last race of that season.  I still get choked up when the video images of the crash come back into my memory.

6.  I play guitar and write songs.  I still own an Ovation electric/acoustic that I bought with my summer earnings in 1973.  I was fresh out of high school and worked for a grain elevator in Texas during the wheat harvest.  My guitar’s name is “Jordan” after a character in “The Great Gatsby.”

7.  I have a current urge to visit Tvedestrand, Norway, which is close to Boroy Island, where Richard Wagner was stranded once.  While stranded there, he came up with the idea for his opera “The Flying Dutchman,” the story of which I love and relate to.  I actually wouldn’t mind just hiding out there for at least a handful of months to radically change my surroundings, my culture, my world.  Breaking patterns cold turkey can be a good thing.

My nominees are:

(Since I’m relatively new to blogging, there are a handful of sites I visit regularly, one in particular that is an “island” for me, in a sense.  Blogging is really cool in how it allows you to visit other cultures.  It is very much a global community kind of experience.  Teilhard de Chardin wrote of his idea of a noosphere, which is a sphere of mind, or of thought.  The web is a noosphere, similar to a geosphere, a biosphere, the atmosphere.  Blogging is certainly a noosphere, but more.  It unites common minds and common spirits, common joys and common sorrows, common “positive politics.”  I’m rambling, but what I mean to say is that the sites I know the best have received numerous awards, numerous times already, but since they have visited me so much in the short month I’ve been online, I will nominate them anyway, in no particular order.)

The rules are as follows:

1.  Post a picture of the award.

2.  Thank the award giver.

3.  Mention 7 random facts about yourself.

4.  Nominate 5 other bloggers and let them know.

Take care, all!

